How easy is it to just pull the plug on social media?

It may seem like a fairly easy question to some but to disconnect from social media might seem more of a challenge than you might think. I can only refer to myself as I really became an Instagram junkie and Facebook “update everything you eat and see” kind of a person.

To start with people ( mainly male friends ) why I take so much photos and update my social media so much and when my S/O, that is not a big fan of soc.med. started to get annoyed with it , I began to rethink what it did to me. Was I being social to people that just pushed a “like” button and missing out on the real things ?

Yes, at least for me it took a big chunk of my time. A chunk of time I didn’t even know was that big as it later turned out to be. So, in order to end this time consuming thing , I quit cold turkey with both Instagram and Facebook. I don’t mean I just uninstalled the apps because I knew it wouldn’t help, I mean actually deleting all accounts that took my time. I deleted my Instagram account, I mailed FB to have my Facebook account permanently shut down and I quit on Snapchat, though I later took snapchat up again. Who can resist those cute little filters, right ?

The results being that I became more focused on my life and my stress levels declined fast.

Now the fun side of this is that all the people that use to mock me for spending time on social media started to call and text me asking if I’m doing ok. Like I was sick or been in some kind of accident. Natural reply  being that I’m fine the next question became ” Are we not friends anymore? Did I do something? ”

No, we are fine and why all the questions became the standard reply. Well, according to Instagram and FB I can’t check your pictures or profile anymore so what’s up?

When being told I deleted all social media most reactions were that ” It’s a little extreme to delete it all. You could just cut down on it.”

No way to please some people I guess…. and why should we please other people to begin with..

/ Marcus

#socialmedia


Leave a Reply

